Book your Place

The Hearing Medicines Discovery Syndicate and this webinar are managed by Medicines Discovery Catapult.
We take your data protection seriously. For more information, read our 
Privacy Policy

Through this series of webinars, we will explore the emerging hearing medicines landscape by inviting leading clinicians, academics and industry representatives along with people with lived experience of hearing loss, to share their expertise and insight.

Over 4 webinars we will provide a 360-view of the field covering the patient need, the key challenges faced by innovators, how to commercialise your hearing research and why regenerative approaches could be a game-changer for hearing medicines discovery.

About the Webinar Series

The Emerging Hearing Medicines Landscape

A monthly webinar series developed by the Hearing Medicines Discovery Syndicate, exploring hearing drug discovery in the context of an emerging area for medicines development and a
growing market.

Find our more about hearing loss drug discovery research...

The final webinar in the series will be held in December 2020, date TBC. It will focus on emerging approaches to address hearing loss.

Future Webinars

This webinar series has been developed by the Hearing Medicines Discovery Syndicate which was launched in January 2020 by Medicines Discovery Catapult and RNID to accelerate the discovery and development of novel hearing medicines.

16.00 GMT | 17:00 CET
11:00 EST | 8:00 PST
Thursday 26 November 2020

Webinar 3"How and Why" to Commercialise your Hearing Research

What’s it about? 

To provide an insight into the opportunities to commercialise hearing research, access hearing research capabilities and expertise, and secure investment.

Who should join?

Academics interested in spinning out companies, drug discovery companies interested in investment opportunities in the hearing therapeutic space, investors looking to invest in new emerging fields.

Will I be able to join if I have hearing loss? 

Yes, the webinar will be BSL-interpreted and scripted in real-time by a professional typist to enable people with hearing loss to join and interact with the live event. 



16:00 Opening Remarks and Welcome
Dr Ralph Holme, RNID and Dr Beverley Isherwood, MDC

16:05 The Commercial Landscape in Hearing Drug Discovery

Prof Rick Cousins, Cinnabar Consulting

16:20 Accessing External Hearing Drug Discovery Expertise and Capabilities
Dr Wahid Awad, CILcare and Dr Helen Blackshaw, ENT Clinical

16:30 Considerations in Seeking Investment for Hearing Medicines Discovery
Dr Erica Whittaker, Head of Corporate Venture Fund at UCB

16:40 Panel Session: Q&A and Discussion
Chair: Dr Ralph Holme  

17:00 Close

Agenda for Webinar 3: "How and Why" to Commercialise
your Hearing Research